4-H Materials

Youth Electricity Kits

Exhibit Recommendations/Suggestions

Judging Criteria

4-H Committee

The objective of the 4-H Committee is to promote the efficient and safe use of electricity through educational materials and programs designed for youth.
For decades, the Energy Education Council has supported 4-H Youth electricity and energy education with both funding and expertise related to workshops, judging of county and state fair entries and more. The active 4-H committee works to create programming, recommend material purchases, and provide experts and volunteers to assist youth in their energy education.

  • 4-H Committee Board

  • Co-Chair and EEC Board Liaison: Denise F. Kistner

    Montgomery County Extension
    #1 Industrial Park Dr, Hillsboro, 62049
    Telephone: 217.532.3941; Fax: 217.532.3944
    E-mail: dkistner@illinois.edu
  • Co-Chair: Melinda States

    University of Illinois Extension
    4112 N. Water Tower Place, Mt. Vernon, 62864
    Telephone: 618.242.9310; Fax: 618.242.9433
    E-mail: mstates@illinois.edu
  • Chris Boyd

    Southern Illinois Electric Cooperative
    PO Box 100, Dongola, 62926
    Telephone: 618.827.3555; Fax: 618.827.3585
    E-mail: cboyd@siec.org
  • Chris Grotbo

    28227 E 725 N Road, Leroy, 61752
    E-mail: grotboc@dtnspeed.net
  • Allan Masterson

    Monroe County Electric Co-Operative, Inc.
    PO Box 128, Waterloo, 62298
    Telephone: 618.939.7171; Fax: 618.939.3969
    E-mail: mcec@htc.net
  • Bill Million

    University of Illinois Extension
    1901 University Inn, 302 E. John, Champaign, 61820
    Telephone: 217.333.0911; Fax: 217.333.9287
    E-mail: wmillion@illinois.edu
  • Charles Peterson

    Retired (Volunteer)
    251 Coyote Lane, Coffeen, IL 62017
    Telephone: 217.854.3137; Fax: 217.854.3918
    E-mail: cpeterson251@hotmail.com
  • Larry L. Wachtel

    Retired (Volunteer)
    505 Ridgeview Dr., Sherman, 62684-9782
    Telephone: 217.496.2421
    E-mail: wachtell@gcctv.com